May 22, 2008

2008 SECA Art Award: Winners & Finalists

As promised earlier today, the 2008 SECA Art Award recipients are:

Tauba Auerbach, Desirée Holman, Jordan Kantor, & Trevor Paglen.


And the finalists:

James Buckhouse

Monica Canilao

Dina Danish

Veronica De Jesus

Lucas DeGiulio

Ala Ebtekar

Dustin Fosnot

Aaron Gach

David Huffman

Prajakti Jayavant

Packard Jennings

Ruth Laskey

Christian Maychack

Keegan McHargue

Julio Cesar Morales

Jay Nelson

Kate Pocrass

Emily Prince

Lordy Rodriguez

Zachary Royer Scholz

Paul Schiek

Andrew Schoultz

Jennie Smith

Chris Sollars

Travis Somerville

Paul Wackers

Mary Elizabeth Yarbrough


You can find the official SFMOMA press release here. And, check back here early next week—SFMOMA assistant curators of painting and sculpture Apsara DiQuinzio and Alison Gass, who selected the winners, will talk a little bit with me about this award cycle’s nomination and selection process.


Comments (1)

Leave a comment

Please tell us what you think. We really love conversation, and we’re happy to entertain dissenting opinions. Just no name-calling, personal attacks, slurs, threats, spam, and the like, please. Those ones we reserve the right to remove.

Sign Up

Join our newsletter for infrequent updates on new posts and Open Space events.
  • Required, will not be published

Dear Visitor,
We regret to inform you that Open Space is no longer active. It was retired at the end of 2021. We sincerely appreciate your support and engagement over the years.

For your reference, we encourage you to read past entries or search the site.

To stay informed about future ventures or updates, please follow us at

Thank you for being a part of our journey!